Christmas Comes To Starbucks

5 Nov

Yes it’s that time of the year again! Winter is here, Christmas is coming and that means only one thing – Starbucks Red cups and Christmas merchandise is here. It launched yesterday (04.11.11) in Ireland and I went along to check out what was on offer.

Firstly the new season drinks included:

Peppermint Mocha Frappuccino
Praline Mocha
Toffee Nut Latte
Gingerbread Latte
Eggnog Latte

I went for a Praline Mocha and it was really amazing, hazelnut and mocha sauce topped with espresso and steamed milk. It’s really nutty with a perfect sweetness and deep undertones of chocolate. As time goes on I plan to have the rest of these and I’m really looking forward to it if the first one is anything to go by.

Some new merchandise includes:

Coffee Sampler Pack (including Christmas blend, espresso Christmas blend and Sumatra)
New Christmas Mugs (cold and hot mugs)
Starbucks linen bags to carry whole bean coffees
Christmas blend whole bean coffee
Espresso roast Christmas blend whole bean coffee
Christmas tumblers
Lastly – 3 new Starbucks Cards (With a great Christmas designed holder)

I just recently heard that Christmas Blend VIA came out also, but on launch day I wasn’t on the shelves. Can’t wait to get some of that!

The smell when walking into the ‘new’ Christmas stores was not that of Starbucks anymore but of roasted nuts and hot peppermint which really set the scene and mood for the coming winter. I hope you enjoy the images I took in store and share anything else new in your stores. Here’s to a great Starbucks Christmas! ๐Ÿ™‚

Update 22.11.11 – Having tried all the Christmas drinks I honestly have to say that my favorite one is the Toffee Nut Latte. It’s a nutty coffee topped with cream and delicious crispy caramel sprinkles. Whats your favorite so far this year?

11 Responses to “Christmas Comes To Starbucks”

  1. coffee1addict October 7, 2013 at 19:19 #

    Also Christmas Season Coffee at Starbucks is special! For instance, Dark Chocolate Mocha, is only served during Christmas season at starbucks, but there are so many fans! To read more/ http://coffee1addict.wordpress.com/

  2. Daniel Louis Lownie December 9, 2011 at 15:55 #

    I have the privalige of working for Starbucks in the States. I recomend everyoneone try a Salted Caramel Hot Chocolate if it is available in Europe. i also recomend trying a Gingerbread Eggnog Chai, sooo yummy.

    I love the Christmas Blend and Christmas espresso Blend this Year!!!!! I am also excited for the Blonde roast being released in January!!!!!

  3. Ron November 17, 2011 at 15:49 #

    The Peppermint Mocha is the best!

  4. Ron November 17, 2011 at 15:48 #

    I’m a fan of Starbucks myself. I love walking in that cozy atmosphere anytime, but around Christmas is the best. It really puts me in the spirit. Thanks for a great blog.

  5. John November 6, 2011 at 13:28 #

    wasnt carzy about any of the christmas drinks :/ But i am still gonna buy a load of that merchandise , really want that coffee sampler !

    • StarbucksMarkDavid November 6, 2011 at 15:42 #

      Hey John, ye the coffee sampler is really great! Can’t wait to try that one myself, great way to try different blends and you can even open a few of them at a time because they are so small and do a little tasting at home! ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Kaori (@BuckedbytheStar) November 5, 2011 at 23:36 #

    I love love love how stores look so cozy and warm with all the Christmas decorations and merchandise! And you got so many drinks to choose from, very jealous of the peppermint mocha. Did you get the card holder, too? Love that!

    Thanks for sharing the great pictures ๐Ÿ˜€

    • StarbucksMarkDavid November 6, 2011 at 00:25 #

      Thanks for the comment! I loved the new stores also, so nice and cozy. And yes the card holders are for Christmas only.. They look amazing! ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Sarah (@Pencil_to_Paper) November 5, 2011 at 22:56 #

    Praline Mocha sounds SO good! And I love the Peppermint Mocha Frappuccinoโ€”I actually like to get a Peppermint Java Chip. YUM. I love Christmastime at Starbucks. Great photos, too!

    • StarbucksMarkDavid November 5, 2011 at 23:05 #

      Thanks for the comment! ๐Ÿ™‚ I have yet to try peppermint mocha, I asked for one just before I left and they said they sold out of peppermint syrup already! Next time, that’s the first one I will try! Praline Mocha is actually available in most stores so I’ve been told, it’s a normal mocha with hazelnut syrup added! Maybe ask for it and you can try it that way? Hope you enjoy!

      • na November 8, 2011 at 05:38 #

        nothing yet in Rosehill Kirkland wa. somewhere between the 2nd and 4th busiest SB in the world so I’ve been told.
        Seems like SB XMas blend is coming the 16th Novemner. Seems late? Shortage of beans, or memory failure ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

