Starbucks Collectibles

26 Aug

Over the last few weeks of packing and moving furniture I’ve found that I had a lot more Starbucks Collectibles then I thought. It got me thinking how we hoard these items to ourselves as memories or representations of our personalities acquired over time to be part of something we are passionate about and want in our day to day lives. After thinking about this for some time and how not many, if anyone has ever seen my collection (and vise versa, I’ve never seen other peoples Starbucks items). This post is dedicated to every tumbler collectors, city cup buyers and merchandise obsessed among us in the Starbucks community. I would love to ask others to send me pictures of items in their collections and in a TWO part post I will show off the best items and collectibles that Starbucks friends have to offer. This first post will be about the items I have with maybe a story or two behind some select items and in the next post I will show you what others have sent to me in the spirit of Starbucks. This is just a VERY small selection of the items I have. I hope after reading this you are inspired to share your most treasured pieces with all of us.

Mugs

The first image is the new 40th anniversary new logo mug. I really love this one, it has taken me months to find one, but a few weeks ago one Starbucks I visited had loads of them so I picked it up for my collection. The third image is the brand new Starbucks cups that are NOT for sale in ANY store. These mugs will eventually be replacing the old mugs in stores. They are beautiful mugs with an indented siren logo on the front and a simple letter on the handle (T-Tall, G-Grande, V-Venti). I really love these its so much bigger then the old mugs for some reason, I have this Grande size one and I also have an older logo mug from stores that’s also Grande and this one fits more inside. It feels much more robust than the old ones, much thicker and stronger and makes you want to curl up with a great cup of coffee.

Tumblers

The first image is of one of my all time favorite tumblers. It’s the candy green double walled Starbucks tumbler. This one because of the double walls keeps drinks hot or cold for hours which is perfect for taking on a trip or going to work. The last image is of the all new 2011 customizable cold cup (with dome). These are great because you can unscrew the outer cup, write your favorite drink on the inside and seal it up again. These recently went on sale in Europe and for the FIRST TIME EVER they come with a dome lid. From conversations with friends in American, as far as I know Starbucks doesn’t sell dome lids in stores, they can be purchased online but that might have changed recently. Of course I also have a flat lid for cream free drinks, but is rarely used! 😉

Cards

These great Starbucks cards speak for themselves really. The left image is a Starbucks city card from Dublin, Ireland. On the face of the card is a map of Dublin with the river going through it and some sights in the city dotted around it. I really love this card, it reminds me of home and I’ve seen all the monuments represented on the card so it brings back great memories every time I look at it. The second image in a Starbucks Gold Card from a partner in America. These gold cards are sent to loyal Starbucks drinkers when they reach a certain limit of drinks bought, then providing the owner with some great perks, like a free drink every 15 stars and free add ins like caramel and mocha sauces.

Miscellaneous

Lastly a few miscellaneous items in my collection. The first is of course a new Starbucks Coffee Passport. With these passports you can record your coffee tastings, learn about growing regions, flavor profiles and taste notes. The middle image is a Barista training guide which is used by Starbucks couches in America to train up new partners in the art of coffee making, customer service and working towards there stores goals. Last but not least is a great Starbucks VIA Ready Brew holder. These little holders with an airtight seal and polished wooden tops hold up to 24 packets of VIA for easy access when ever you might need a coffee hit!

Well, that’s it. Just a few of my favorite items from my Starbucks collection. I hope you liked looking at these and share your rare items with me in the future. Enjoy..

13 Responses to “Starbucks Collectibles”

  1. Martin Gaal December 10, 2012 at 22:34 #

    Does anybody know, or know where I can find out, the value of a Starbucks Pedal Car that is still in the box and never been used? My mom is retiring and is starting to let some of her collectibles go. If anybody has any info, please contact me at martin.g.gaal@gmail.com

  2. Ciarán February 14, 2012 at 17:29 #

    I realised that i was addicted to Starbucks when I realised that my house has more SBUX mugs than regular mugs 🙂

  3. R.j. Jensen December 20, 2011 at 00:22 #

    Hi ! I just wandered off to your wonderful blog after trying to find the Coffee Passports. I was sipping my Coffee of the Day in Sao Paulo this afternoon when the baristas had an impromptu session right beside my table and I quickly joined in. I also collect the mugs from all over. Thanks for your passion for anything Starbucks, I’m book marking your blog, and I do love your IPad App!!! Happy Holidays!

  4. Ruben Rafael Aguilar Grajales August 30, 2011 at 21:39 #

    hi a like collect starbucks tumblers..well in this moment i only have two, but waht its your e-mail for send you the photos??

    see you and thanks for the time…

  5. Kaori (@BuckedbytheStar) August 27, 2011 at 15:07 #

    I don’t collect mugs but LOVE the 40th anniversary mug!!! Such a beauty. The dublin starbucks card is really unique, too. Do they have one with the new siren logo now?

    • StarbucksMarkDavid August 27, 2011 at 15:48 #

      Thanks, it really is a great mug and actually was very hard to find in this country! The Dublin Starbucks card is by far my favorite of the many I have, yes I have the new logo limited edition one also. I was going to pop that up but thought everyone has one so it’s not so special! lol Do you have one?

      • Randy Knutson August 27, 2011 at 23:30 #

        I was glad to see these posts. I have a few treasures from collecting mugs, including many of the previous city ones. Especially notable is a Pikes Place/Starbucks mug from 1999 with note of the first store, Rachel the Pig, etc. I especially liked these two from a few years back (2008) that had the then current logo (#3) with the original one; the taller mug even had a little Starbucks history written on the side. Finally, we were in Seattle this summer and so I got a mug from the first store, dated 2010.

        • StarbucksMarkDavid August 28, 2011 at 16:25 #

          Wow, sounds great! Everyone seems to be talking about city mugs. Maybe I should have put up some of mine also! 🙂 You can send me images of your favorite ones if you would like! I’ll reply to your email very soon and you can send them on from there. Thanks for the comment!

      • Kaori (@BuckedbytheStar) August 28, 2011 at 04:54 #

        I don’t think we have that mug here in Japan. And we do have starbuckscards with the new siren, but none of the city starbuckscards have it yet. I’d love to see the new dublin starbuckscard ;D

        • StarbucksMarkDavid August 28, 2011 at 16:23 #

          As would I! haha When I’m home soon I’ll have a look out for any new cards! If there are I’ll be posting them here. Actually, the Dublin City Starbucks Card only came out for St.Patricks Day a few years back and it was so popular that they had to keep it. Everyone wanted one!! 🙂

  6. KARA Gooners (@kara86ster) August 26, 2011 at 18:44 #

    Nice post! Everybody loves Starbucks merchandise, only not for the City Mug collectors maybe, they won’t stop till they drop! LOL. BTW, I don’t have too many things, only 2 tumblers & cold cups; & 4 mugs. I love my venti dome lid cold cup with new logo, and the best part is the lid can fit ANY cold cup! Hopefully my collection will be much more in the future… =)

    • StarbucksMarkDavid August 27, 2011 at 15:45 #

      Hi, Thanks for the comment! I like the images you sent me! Might have to include them in the next post. I’m sure your collection will fill up quite quickly, Starbucks usually sees to that! haha 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Starbucks 40th Anniversary Partner Card « - August 31, 2011

    […] writing the post about Starbucks Collectibles in which I was going to include this card. I thought it was so special that it needed it’s […]

Leave a Reply

