Howard Schultz On BBC Radio2

12 May

“Do you hate Starbucks” – Just yesterday as part of the Onward promotions Starbucks CEO Howard Schultz did a very interesting interview on UK BBC Radio 2. The CEO was hit with some very aggressive and leading questions but he seemed to handle the situation extremely well and in a very respectful manner. Jeremy Vines disrespectful and attacking interview skills left me thinking how rude and utterly uneducated he is on his interview subjects. Did he even read any of Howard’s book? Along with some (badly chosen) emails to the show included the usual comments on how Starbucks sells overpriced expensive coffee and assuming they are not doing any good for coffee growers. Howard answers all these questions and more in a frank and upfront interview backing up his thoughts with some great facts and insight into this great and passionate company. To listen online check out the link below which will be available until 2:02PM Wed, 18 May 2011. I’d love to hear your opinions on the interview and the subjects raised in this show.

Howard Schultz on the Jeremy Vine Show

5 Responses to “Howard Schultz On BBC Radio2”

  1. Learn Ways to Go Green February 17, 2012 at 06:01 #

    Nice post. I used to be checking constantly this weblog and I’m impressed! Extremely useful info specially the ultimate phase 🙂 I take care of such information a lot. I was looking for this particular information for a very long time. Thank you and best of luck.

  2. Melody May 13, 2011 at 03:10 #

    That was definitely one of the more aggressive Howard Schultz interviews I’ve ever heard. I felt like maybe one or two questions were critical yet with good ideas behind them (it’s true, that some people are concerned when walking down their local town main street and see large global brands dominating …) yet they were so poorly delivered as questions, and the interviewer interrupted constantly.

    Thank you for posting the interesting link. With the Onward book tour moving forward at full force, there are many more interviews than what I catch online, so I’m glad you shared the link.
    ~Melody

    • StarbucksMarkDavid May 13, 2011 at 15:34 #

      No problem Melody, if I hear of anymore I’ll post them, maybe add them to this post so they stay together! The interview was very interesting in that it’s the first time I’ve ever heard an interviewer being so aggressive towards Howard. But in true Starbuckian respect he handled the situation very well. It just got me thinking of how some meetings in SBUX HQ must go down, very respectful and everyone gets a turn to talk. A great environment for any employee to work in I think..

  3. Anon May 12, 2011 at 19:23 #

    Totally agree …I actually complained to the show regarding Jeremy Vine’s incendiary interview with the CEO. I agree he was rude, almost aggressive, did not give Mr Schultz chance to speak, and had clearly made his mind up to try to agitate the interviewee. Poor interviews skills, which is a shame, as it would have been a really interesting listen.

    • StarbucksMarkDavid May 13, 2011 at 00:07 #

      Absolutely, that’s exactly how I felt when listening to the show. Vine seemed so disinterested in Starbucks and dismissing the interview that I was really shocked Howard even went on the show. I’m sure he wont make that mistake again. Still, interesting interview, I’ve never heard anyone having a go at Howard Schultz before and he really impressed me by how calm and collected he stayed! Great job..

Leave a Reply

